Foreign Affairs Select Committee to discuss Economic Partnership Agreements with Minister of State Seán Sherlock

November 17th, 2015 - Pat Breen

The Select Committee on Foreign Affairs and Trade will convene tomorrow, Wednesday, 18th November 2015 at 2pm in Committee Room 1, Leinster House to discuss Economic Partnership Agreement’s. Minster of State with special responsibility for Development, Trade Promotion and North South Co-operation, Seán Sherlock TD, will appear before the Committee.

The Committee will first discuss the proposed Economic Partnership Agreement between the West African States, the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) and the West African Economic and Monetary Union (UEMOA), and the European Union and its Member States.

The Committee will then consider the proposed Economic Partnership Agreement between the CARIFORUM States and the European Community and its Member States. CARIFORUM is a subgroup of the African, Caribbean and Pacific Group of States and allows for economic dialogue with the European Union.

Committee Chairman, Pat Breen TD, says: “These Economic Partnership Agreements allow for a range of new opportunities, on both sides, and as a Committee we very much welcome this opportunity to engage with Minister Sherlock. Increased trade is central to sustained economic growth in developing countries and these agreements aim to provide a framework that will enhance this co-operation.”

The meeting will take place tomorrow, Wednesday 18th November in Committee Room 1 at 2pm.

Committee proceedings can be viewed live here:

Committee proceedings can also be viewed on the move, through the Houses of the Oireachtas Smartphone App, available for Apple and Android devices.