Passport Office – Breen to lead delegation tomorrow.

July 12th, 2011 - Pat Breen

Oireachtas Committee to Visit Passport Office in Balbriggan, County Dublin

12 July 2011 The Chairman of the Joint Committee on Foreign Affairs and Trade, Pat Breen, TD will lead a delegation from the Committee when it visits the Passport Office at Balbriggan, County Dublin tomorrow (13th).

Members of the Committee will be briefed by Passport Office Officials on concerns regarding delays in the Passport Service, growing pressures on the system due to increasing application numbers and the Automatic Passport System (APS). The delegation will also take the opportunity to visit the production facility and view the security features and production process of the Irish e-Passport.

Speaking in advance of the visit, Committee Chairman Pat Breen, TD said; “This is the first time that the Joint Committee has undertaken an off-site visit. This visit presents the Committee with an opportunity to see at first hand the developments that have been made in the production of the Irish e-Passport while also maintaining its high level of security and reputational value. The Committee will also be asking Officials about the current trends in passport applications and how delays in issuing passports can be managed to improve the service for the public.”

This event is open to the media. If you wish to attend this visit, send a reporter or photographer please contact the Communications Unit who will make the necessary arrangements. The Chairman and members of the Committee will be available to meet and brief the media at the conclusion of the visit at 3.45 pm approx.

Where: Passport Office, Balbriggan, County Dublin
When: Wednesday, 13th July at 3.45 pm


For further information please contact:

Cáit Hayes
Oireachtas Communications Unit
01 618 3883
087 9190300

Committee Membership
Pat Breen Chairman (Fine Gael)
Eric Byrne (Labour)
Bernard J Durkan Vice-Chair (Fine Gael)
Pádraig Mac Lochlainn (Sinn Fein)
Michael McNamara (Labour)
Dara Murphy (Fine Gael)
Dan Neville (Fine Gael)
Seán Ó Fearghaíl (Fianna Fail)
Maureen O’Sullivan (Independent)

Deirdre Clune (Fine Gael)
Mark Daly (Fianna Fail)
Lorraine Higgins (Labour)
Michael Mullins (Fine Gael)
David Norris (Independent-Universities)
Jim Walsh (Fianna Fail)